Georgetown, Exuma, Maintenance month.

When I left Kalabash Bay – on December 26 – at north Long Island it was early morning and to the east there were black clouds but towards Georgetown it all looked oke . And it was oke . I had a nice relaxed sail. The wind was from the south what made it an easy sail. Just before I came between the reefs from Georgetown Harbour I lowered the main sail and made my way in only on the foresail . Around 12.30 the anchor was in and I cleared the boat and launched the dinghy.

Later that afternoon I went ashore to do some shopping for fresh veggies and to get my jerrycans filled with fresh water. The only item what was not in the shops was bread. The first ferry in the new year would bring it they hoped . For the that last item is a free tap on the dinghy dock. After coming back on board I took my laundry out and filled up some buckets with water and in went the dirty stuff.

The next day I made 4 more runs to the fresh water tap because I was washing everything what was dirty or could just use a rinse. This was a complete day job but by the end of the day all was done and dry.

On December 28 I picked up the anchor and found myself a nice anchor spot near the monument on Stocking Island and that is where I stayed for the next 4 weeks. Yes that long because I had decided that Mylady could use some total love care. And so I painted most of all inside the saloon and some items in the engine room.

Several times a week a ferry came in to bring supplies for the island . That is the only way all the goods are brought from Nassau to the island .

On one of the days I took a break in the work and did the hike up to the monument. From there you have a beautiful view over the anchorage and the whole harbour.

It is not always sun shine . A few days the wind was pretty strong and it rained . But oke that cleared the deck from dust and salt sea water .

On a beautiful calm evening the full moon came up and with my new camera I could make some nice pictures of it.

After 3 weeks the paint job was more or less done and all looked again very good again. Yes as you can see on the pictures during the time I was busy it was a bit of a mess inside.

After the paint job was done I took out the Sailrite Sewing machine because I had to do some projects with it. That went with ups and downs . Yes it were the first big projects on the machine and I learned a lot regarding the use of the machine . But after a week all that was doen as well. Yes not a boring moment on board Mylady .

Now it is 28 December and all is cleared and I am ready to go cruising again. Currently I am on anchor near the village again and filled up my water tanks and bought enough supplies for the coming weeks. On January 30 I will sail north but not alone . There will be a female crew member on board for a few weeks . More about that in my next post .

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started