From Lynyard Cay going south and up north again.

While I was on anchor at the south part of Lynyard cay and had a look at the weather / wind I though , “ this must be perfect to sail in one go to the Ragged Islands “ . I had heard a bit about that group but I had never been there. I checked the chart and saw that – going outside the islands – it was only 325 nautical miles so not that far. Just next to me was a big big catamaran on anchor and that morning I rowed over with some fresh water jerrycans and asked if they could give me some water what was no problem. After I had that first load on board I went back to get more filled. I had never done this but it was very welcome . That afternoon of December 05 I moved to the other side of the bay because the wind suppose to turn to the west what it did. And made Mylady ready for the sail south. On Wednesday, December 06 the anchor was out at daybreak and I was underway. The weather was good with a nice wind and the sun was coming up. The whole day it was like this and I made good progress. By early evening the wind increased but the direction was still good. Also the second day out it was good sailing. I had a look at the distance still to go and the wind prediction. There was a little chance I could make it before dark on Friday. But it was a big maybe. And the islands were not a place to arrive at night time. So I made the decision to reduce sail and slow down. I took the mainsail down and had only a very small foresail out .

Yes very relaxed sailing but all worked out perfect . At Saturday morning around 08.00 I was near the islands and could increase speed by rolling out the foresail a bit more. At 09.30 I was behind the islands in calm waters but the wind was still pretty strong. When sailing behind the islands I saw the village. I was told that is was more or less abandoned because there was lots of damage to everything due to the hurricanes. And around the island where the village is , is it quit shallow. The draft of Mylady is 6,5 feet. I continued to Raccoon Cay and dropped anchor there at 11.45 lt. It was a nice spot near a long beach. I cleared the boot and launched the dinghy. Around 15.00 I rowed ashore to have a look. At one spot somebody made a very nice fireplace. I found on the beach two good timbers and added these as a nice seat to that fireplace . And at one end of the beach were the ruins of a house so one time somebody had stayed there.

I stayed there a few days on anchor. The next day I went ashore and I took my trash with me. I collected wood and made a nice fire so all my trash was burned. On December 12 my anchor was out and I sailed north along the islands. At 12.00 lt the anchor was dropped behind “ Buena Vista Cay “. The wind was pretty strong but the holding for the anchor good. After the boat was cleared I rowed ashore to have a look but there was not much to see. The next day I took the anchor up and sailed south again . I was heading for “ Hog Cay “ .

The last miles I had the wind on the nose so I had to make a few tacks to come in . At 15.30 lt the anchor was in on the north side of the anchorage. At the south side were a few more boats on anchor. The next morning I picked up the anchor and went in a bit further to have a bit more protection for the strong easterly wind that was coming and indeed was there the next two day’s. I stayed a few days there and didn’t go ashore. On December 16 I sailed back to Raccoon Cay. That late afternoon I made a fire again to burn my trash. The next morning at daybreak the anchor was out and trough the Raccoon Cut I went on the ocean underway to Clarence Town . When I left the weather was still reasonable oke. But during the morning there rain increased and the wind also a bit but the sailing went good with a good speed. The swell was real big but Mylady was in her element and dancing on those waves. The whole passage went that good that at 22.00 I was near Clarence town and though to take a short cut over a shallower part . Just when I went on that piece I noticed the swell was getting pretty steep and was on the break of breaking and it did just in front of me so I turned fast and went out again to deeper water. At daybreak you can see it but now in the dark ups it was real dangerous. But I made it safe in even to go all the way between the reefs. The navionics chart were correct.

The next morning I picked up the anchor and went in a little but further. I thought I would row ashore and land on the nearby beach. But by the time I had it all ready to go it was high tide and the beach didn’t look a good landing place due to the swell that was breaking there. I Mounted the outboard behind the dinghy and made my way to the government dock. There was a perfect landing.

Clarence Town – if you hear the name you think of a town – is just a very small village. But there is a little shop , Erika’s Bakery , where they sell home made bread and cakes. The bread was very good as were the rum cakes I had. I walked around a bit and visited the big church what is on a hill and what you can see from far away. Alongside a road a men was cutting branches from the bush. When I approached him he said “ I knew you would ask what I was doing “ and yes I did. It was for his sheep who like that kind of stuff very much. I had a nice talk with the men and learned a bit about the island. After I continued my walk I went to the marina office to see if they knew a good spot to drop anchor for the upcoming strong easterly. The men at the office gave perfect info. And that was my only visit ashore to Clarence town. After I came back on board I took the outboard of the dinghy , picked up the anchor and went to the good spot what was recommended. Next to anchorage was a nice beach and after the boat was oke I rowed ashore and walked around. The next two day’s the wind was pretty strong again but I was oke.

On December 23 I left at daybreak and had a nice easy sail to Calabash bay what is on the north tip of Long Island. That whole bay is not to deep but just enough for Mylady. I went all the way to the north of the bay where the swell coming from the ocean was only a little bit.

After I was on anchor and the boat was cleared I got a visit from two dolfhins who swam slowly around the boat.

The next morning I picked up the anchor and went around Saint Peter’s Point to the next anchorage.

That was a beautiful spot but the swell from the ocean made it a roly anchorage. And due to the breakers on the beach it would not be possible to go ashore. Around noon I went back to Calabash bay. There is a resort but I didn’t go ashore to have a look . On December 26 I sailed for Georgetown and there I dropped anchor near the village. I needed to fill up on fresh provisions and fresh water and that is available in Georgetown . More about that in my next post .

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started