From Little Harbour all the way to Fernandina Beach, Georgia, USA.

The next day after the burn Garbage party I left around 10.00. With only the fore sail out I made good speed on the strong southerly wind. I did go that far and dropped anchor at “ Armstrong

Cay “ around 14.30 lt . The dinghy was on deck and there was not much to see on the shore so I stayed on board and took it easy. The next day I sailed up to Man-O-War cay where I would meet a boat “ Santiago “ . I had met them years ago on the yard at Yankee Point marina. At 17.00 they arrived and anchored next to me.

After they were safe on anchor I went over to say hello and to share a sun downer with them. The next day I did this and that on boat and around 17.00 we had a sun downer again . On Tuesday 21 march I picked up the anchor around 09.00 and had a nice sail to Marsh Harbor where I wanted to do shopping . In Marsh harbor it was full with boats but I found a good anchor spot . After Mylady was all oke I went ashore and of to the big supermarket about 10 min walking. I came back on board Mylade 2 hours later and stowed all my shopping and left the harbor straight after that. The sun was out , the wind was east , 4 bft , so I had to tack to come back to Santiago . It was a very nice and good sail and 2 hours later I was anchored next to them . And yes we had again a sun downer together. In the mean time friends of them had arrived and they joined us for this. The next day it was pretty windy and the sea was to rough to go over to Santiago.

On Thursday 23 March I went over to Santiago to say goodbye. And at 10.30 the anchor was out and I was heading for Green Turtle Cay. The wind was SSE and not strong anymore. I had all my sail up and out and had a good sail all the way. And at 16.15 lt the anchor was in at Crab Cay anchorage . There were about 15 other boats on anchor but the next day more were coming in . At 13.45 my anchor was out and I was heading for the anchorage behind Nunjack Rocks .

This is a beautiful anchorage with a long white beach.

The main attraction are the Sting Rays that are near the beach . Many people bring fish and other food and feed that to them and as soon as you are there they come to check if you have something. Among them are also some small sharks.

From the beach there is a patch to walk to the other side of the island. And on the other side is also a big beach. From there you can just follow the beach and you end up at the anchorage.

On Saturday some local small boats came to the beach. One was from a law firm and I had a nice chat with them and shared there lunch and some beers with them.

Of course I made a fire again to burn my garbage. None of the other boat crew came to check it out but anyhow I had a nice fire and a cold beer.

From this anchorage I sailed to Green Turtle Village to have a proper look around and to do some shopping . It is a nice clean village and there is a good supermarket . That same day , late afternoon I sailed back to Crab Cay anchorage and stayed there a few days more . I was keeping a good look at the weather because I wanted from there to sail back to the east coast USA. On April 01 at 14.00 lt my anchor was out and I was underway to Fernandina Beach , Florida , USA . I had a very good trip with a good wind. For a part I could follow the north going Gulf Stream and was doing 9,2 knots max over the ground . Yes that is for Mylady very fast . I arrived at Fernandina in the middle of the night but it was a clear night with some moon and it is a big entrance . At 02.30 on Sunday April 02 , 2023 I was safe on anchor and it was time for my welcome beer .

One thought on “From Little Harbour all the way to Fernandina Beach, Georgia, USA.

  1. 👍🌞🌊 getting behind with reading. Spring keeps me busier, only rain slows down.. Will you keep sailing over summer season? Sorry if i missed info on your plans

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started