Rock Sound and going up north again to the Abacos

The day that I went again to the anchorage near the village of Rock Sound it was a nice sunny day. Once all good on anchor I took my bicycle out of the forward cabin and took all I needed for shopping and loaded it all in the dinghy and went ashore. Once I had all my things ashore I made my folding bicycle oke and went to the supermarket.

Near the waterfront people were working on the stalls for the festival. Also the sound installation for music was set up. In the afternoon after I had been back on board to stow the groceries, fruit and veggies away I took my bicycle and went to a beautiful beach on the other side of the island.

Yes it is very handy to have a bicycle on board. You can explore more of where you are.

Underway to that beach I past a small pink house what was a place where you can buy paintings. I met the men who was the painter and had a nice chat with him.

On Monday evening the sound from the festival was tested and it was loud very very very loud. On Tuesday at the beginning of the evening I went ashore to have a look at the “ Homecoming “ festival. There was not much on the go but the music was going and yes loud loud loud. Near where the stalls were you could not talk to anybody. After I had a look I walked back to the dinghy dock and went back to the boat.

The next morning I went one more time to the supermarket and when that was done I took the bike back to the back and made the whole boat ready for sailing. And at 11.30 I was underway. I had been looking forward to see that festival but the loud loud loud music made me leave. There was a nice gently breeze with me and I found a good spot for the night. There I was 15 nautical miles away from Rock Sound but I still could hear the bang bang from the “music “there.

Early next morning on March 28 at 07.00 lt the anchor was out and was heading for Hatchet Bay again. The wind was good. First it was from port side aft later a bit more abeam. At 16.30 lt the anchor was set and I cleared the boat . That done I took a nice cup of tea.

I stayed 3 day’s at anchor and did some shopping at the local supermarket and twice I had a nice walk trough the village in the late afternoon.

On April 01 I left at 09.00 lt and was heading for Current Cut to find a spot there to anchor for the night. Yes that is the name and yes the current there can be pretty strong. When I was there I had a bit of a current against me but the wind with me and I could sail gently trough the passage. About 10 other boats went the same way but all using there engine.

At 16.00 I was trough the passage and instead of anchoring I had set a course for Great Abaco Island. It would be a night passage but the weather was good and there was a nice wind. At the beginning of the passage there were some big ships and cruise ships passing but nothing was a problem.

In the morning of April 02 around 10.00 lt I sailed trough the passage of the reef into Little Harbour and went on anchor near south Lynyard Cay.

This anchorage has very good holding and the two small beaches are nice and there is a short walk to the other side of the island. At this anchor spot I have been now several times but I still like it lot .

After two days I moved to the westerly side of Little due to an upcoming strong westerly wind. For the first time I went ashore there to have look at the beach. The beach and the area behind it was littered with all kind of rubbish. It was not that nice as on the other side and after half an hour I went back to the boat. The next day I moved back to the south side of Lynyard Cay although the wind was still westerly but not that strong. The next few days the weather stayed good. Between doing some boat work I walked a few times to the other side of the island and did some exploring with the dinghy

On April 09 I sailed to Marsh Harbour. This is the biggest town in this part of Great Abaco. I was low on fresh veggies and fruits . Not that far – about 10 min walk – from the harbour is a big supermarket and there I stocked up. I stayed two days more in Marsh Harbour and then sailed back to Lynyard Cay. The sail south was a nice one and I dropped anchor on the same spot I was before. There I stayed a few days before moving just one nautical mile north to drop anchor. There was also a nice beach and also a walk to the other side of the island .

On April 17 I sailed further up north to a nice anchor spot behind “ Shearpin Cay “ . The next day after coffee and breakfast I picked up the anchor again and sailed again for Marsh Harbour. By 12.00 I was near the harbour and started the engine to go in . But the engine was acting strange and there was some black smoke from the exhaust . Yes no good at all so I stopped the engine and had to sail in with wind on the nose. So I tacked back and fore and at 14.30 the anchor was down and I cleared the boat. After that was done I checked the engine but could not find anything wrong. In the mean time an other yachtie had come to the boat to ask why I had sailed in . I told him about the engine and my luck was that he was a diesel mechanic. He hopped on board and checked everything and then we started the engine all was oke. He said maybe a cylinder miss fired. I thanked him for his wonderful help.

I stayed a few days in Marsh Harbour and among all the things I had to do was to get a new extension from immigration what this time went good. I could stay an other 2 month more.

More in my next post about what I did after Marsh Harbour.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started