Beaufort NC by off shore passage to Fernandina Beach

By 14.00 lt in the morning the anchor was out and I was heading for the ocean. There was a nice wind from easterly direction what made it a nice sail from wind at starboard side. That whole first night the wind was good as was it the following day’s. I hardly saw any other boats or big shipping the three days I was underway.

On October 25 I was at the beginning of St Mary’s Inlet . I a good wind from behind and just for safety reasons I lowered the main sail and continued only on the foresail . While I came in a big submarine just was heading for sea . A coast guard boat came racing to me and asked me to stop. I told them that , that was impossible with wind and current on my tail but I reduced the foresail to go a bit slower . After the submarine had past the second coast guard boat kept an eye on me. After the whole parade had past I got a signal that all was oke and I could proceed to Cumberland. A little bit further the wind turned on the nose and I started the engine. But no sound from the engine. I opened the cover in front of the engine and all looked normal . I tried again but still nothing. On to of the engine is a fuse block with four connections . I shift the one that was on to an other one and yes the engine came to live.

At 16.30 lt the anchor was safe behind Cumberland Island. I cleared the sails and the boat and took a welcome beer. The next day I took it easy in the morning and around 14.00 I went ashore for a walk.

It is always nice to be back on this beautiful island and to walk around. The next day I picked up the anchor and went to an other anchor spot what turned out to be an interesting , beautiful spot .

Everyday I saw a few wild horses and lots of other wild live.

On October 31 around 08.00 the anchor was out and I was heading for st. Mary’s where I was at 11.15 lt safe at anchor. There was a weather prediction of strong northerly wind and that is why I went there. While I was there it was halloween .

While there on anchor I had my bicycle on the shore and did some shopping – the supermarket is about 20 min away – and at the gas station I bought petrol for the outboard. While in st. Mary’s I read a ad about a festival about the right whales in Fernandina Beach the coming weekend . On Thursday 02 November at 15.00 the anchor was out and I was heading for a spot closer to the head of the St Mary’s river. On Friday I made my way to the anchorage of Fernandina Beach where the anchor was in at around 09.00 . That day it was pretty windy and I stayed on board the rest of the day. On Saturday morning at 10.00 I was ashore together with my bicycle.

While heading for the festival I passed the farmers market and had a look there. From there I went to the other side of the island where the festival was held. There were lots of stalls and I should say I talk with a lot of the people from the stalls and learned a lot about the right whales and other sea animals.

On Sunday I went back for an other look and to learn more.

I stayed a few day’s more at anchor there and did again shopping in order to stock up for my trip to the Bahamas. And my little bicycle was a very great help because the supermarkets were as is normal way out of town.

On November 09 just after daybreak the anchor was out and I was heading south going through the Intra Coastal Waterway. My plan was to go from Fernandina Beach by an ocean passage to the Bahamas but the weather / wind didn’t look good for the upcoming period what made me going through the ICW in order to make it south anyhow.

More about that passage in my next post.

3 thoughts on “Beaufort NC by off shore passage to Fernandina Beach

  1. Nice you keep writing and i,m back reading with the first snow here🙂 lots to catch up! Bike is good news. Pics fabulous, but can not enlarge🤔 the animal is called Armadillos (meaning “little armored ones” in Spanish) fair winds

    Like

    1. Hi Inga , I am on anchor now near Clarence Town. I sailed from Lynyard Cay directly to the Ragged Islands and stayed there 14 days . And there is nil mobile reception . here lots of wind but it is not cold , you can keep the snow. Grreetings Eelco

      Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started