East River in Mobjack bay to Dandy Haven Marina for Haul Out.

The sail from the East River in Mobjack bay to Back Creek was a nice one . The sun was out and there was a nice wind from the north east. The entrance to back creek is one where you have to keep your eye’s extra open . In general it is deep enough but if you go of the line between the buoy’s it gets shallow. But I made safe in but under engine power because the wind direction was a bit wrong for sailing in. Once in the creek you have to make a sharp turn to the canal to the yard . That was a bit confusing but all went oke. It was Wednesday afternoon when I arrived and I was booked for Friday . I found a anchor spot near the yard and after all was good I phoned them. I got Danny on the line and he told me that could come in to go alongside the floating pontoon for the night . They planned to take me out the next day what was Thursday. The last bit of the entrance canal to the yard is very small but there are enough bacons to guide you in. At the pontoon I met Danny.

He had a look at the boat and told me that in order to be lifted with there travel lift the forestay with the roller fuller had to go more aft. Before I had dinner I walked around this big yard where mainly small powerboats were.

That evening after I had eat something I worked on that and it took some effort but around 23.00 it was so far that the forestay could be removed the next morning . The next morning they first had to put an other boat back in and after that it was my turn. Danny and Mike help with removing the fore stay and half an hour later Mylady was high and dry above land .

Directly after the boat was out Mike started with a good high pressure cleaner to clean the boat and he took his time and did a good job . In general Mylady didn’t look to bad after 1,5 year in the water .

After she was clean they brought Mylady to her parking spot . And once there Danny and Mike worked on the supports to keep the boat upright . And they did a real proper job by putting on each side 6 stands under Mylady . On many yard they do only 3 on each side. I didn’t complain and was happy with such a good job.

After they were gone I started with the work. I had to clean the spots where the hosting belts were and I cleaned the whole bottom with with a good scrubber. After that was done it was a bit late for the first paint and the boat was still a bit wet.

The next morning the first primer was on and in the afternoon the first layer of antifouling what I had brought with me. The next morning I worked to get the second layer antifouling on the boat . Normally it takes me on my own 3,5 hour to do that job properly. These days was lucky with the weather . It was dry with a liitle bit sun so not to warm. And the paint dried good. On Sunday I had my polish out to do the outside from the hull above the waterline . That is also a big job but it went oke. I didn’t manage to do the whole boat but on Monday that was done also. In the mean time I had done also some other job that only could be done while the boat was out.

On Wednesday morning around noon the came with the travel lift and lifted the boat and took all supports away and that done they lowered the boat again and placed some supports under the boat but against belts . That night the travel lift was holding the boat . That afternoon I worked on where the supports were before . In all the years I own Mylady this was the first yard were it was done like this and it was perfect.

The next morning around 08.00 the trip back to the water was made and at 08.15 Mylady was back in. Danny and Mike helped me with putting the forestay back in place and Mylady was nearly oke again . Yes nearly because I still had to tie up the fore and aft stay but that was done one hour later. That day I cleaned the boat and made here ready for sailing on the next day.

All in all it had been a good haul out on one of the best yards where I had been in all the years that I own Mylady. This is a yard I can recommended to go to .

One thought on “East River in Mobjack bay to Dandy Haven Marina for Haul Out.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started