Washington, Belhaven and Elizabeth City.

The railway bridge at Washington NC . Just before the harbor.

The next day after a easy morning with coffee and a good breakfast I made the dinghy ready and went ashore . It was not that far to the shore so I rowed. Ashore I walked a bit around and made it to the ā€œ North Carolina Estuarium ā€œ . That museum tell you all about the local flora and fauna, the people who lived and live there, about the hurricanes and many more subjects. It took me two hours to explore it.

The main street is not that big but there are nice shops. While ashore I also reported to the harbour master and got the code for the entrance of the shower. All free of charge. Around lunch time I was back on board and did this and that . At 17.00 I went ashore again and made use of the shower. It is good one and was very clean. I stayed two days on anchor. The 3rd day in the afternoon I went alongside. During that afternoon I heard a weather warning on the radio. I was busy inside and when that warning came again I looked outside and saw a very dark sky fast approaching . Fast fast I took the anchor up but the squall hit me anyhow and in heavy rain I came alongside. The people from sv ā€œ Summer Breeze ā€œ were so helpful to take my lines while it was raining heavy. At 17.00 the rain stopped and the wind went down and it became a nice evening. I stayed 2 days alongside. On a short distance from the boat was a petrol station. I took my diesel jerry can I went there to get some.

On May 02 I left this nice and peacefull town . Once through the railway bridge I rolled out the fore sail and the engine went of . There was enough wind to have a nice sail . I waited with hoisting the main till I was in bigger water . The first part is a bit narrow and just next to the fair way it is a bit shallow. Once In bigger water the main went up and we made good speed . It was a downwind sail till I left the Pamlico River and went up the Pungo River to Belhaven. On this part the wind came abeam from port side and increased so that I had to put the first reef in the mainsail . But al in all it was a good sail. At 16.30 the anchor was down and I was safe and sound in Belhaven. I cleared the boat and took a beer. There were only a few other boats on anchor.

That same afternoon I had send a message to my friends at ā€œ the Cosy Mermaid ā€œ . That is a very nice souvenirs shop in Belhaven and I could use there address to have several items I ordered on line send to. Among them was my ā€œ Sailrite ā€œ sewing machine . The next morning at 10.00 I was in the shop to have look at the boxes. Two boxes I could take already with me but I had to make a plan how to get the big heavy machine on board . ON board Mylady I have big stoppers for the lines that run to the cockpit . One was broken and needed a bit welding. The people of the ā€œ Cosy Mermaid ā€œ helped me to find the right person for that job . The next day the wind was still pretty strong but the day after that it was very calm so I picked up the anchor and went alongside at the town dock. In the ā€œ Cosy Mermaid ā€œ I took the machine out the box and put it all together in the travel case. And so it was easy to get the machine on board together with a load of spare parts. I should say big thanks to the ā€œ Cosy Mermaid ā€œ for there help. At the end of the afternoon I went back on anchor again.

While I was in Belhaven I made two trips to the supermarket ā€œ Food Lion ā€œ. From the town it is a long walk but you can take your dinghy much closer and that was very handy.

Yes Belhaven is one of those places where I like to return.

On May 07 , 2023 at 09.00 the anchor was up and I was underway again . There was hardly any wind and the calm breeze that there was . Was straight on the nose. The sails stayed down and the engine had to do the job. I went through the long ā€œ Alligator river ā€“ Pungo River Canal this day . That is 22 nautical miles long . At the end I went a bit further and dropped anchor near ā€œ Deep Point ā€œ . A few years back a big black cloud of mosquito’s came around dusk to the boat . This time there were non at all. Next morning I was up early and after I had a cup of coffee I left and this time the sails were up nearly strait after departure . It was a lovely calm morning with a nice southerly breeze. Most of the Alligator river was a down wind sail.

The passage trough the bridge went without any problem and I continued across the Albemarle Sound under full sail. And a nice sail it was. I was heading for the Pasquotank River. At the head of the river is Elizabeth City and that was my final destination for this day. After I was passed the sound and was in the river the wind increased a lot .I made the main small with the first reef but that was not enough. And to make it easy for myself I just took the main down and continued on the foresail alone what went perfect . At 17.00 after 43 nautical miles the anchor was in near Elizabeth City. Here they also have free berth had enough of it. I cleared the boat and took a welcome beer. The next day I took it very easy . But around 16.00 the anchor was out and I was heading for the water front. With several other boats I went trough the bridge and passed that I found a nice spot at a jetty from the Mid Atlantic Christian University. There is fresh water available but no power but you can use the shower .

The down town area is about 10 min walking and there are enough bars and restaurants. The main attraction of the city is Museum of the Albemarle. It is housed in a big building near the waterfront and for sure well worth visiting and it is free. I stayed a few days in Elizabeth City before moving on . Most boats go from here trough the Great Dismal Swamp Canal . But with my draft of 6,5 feet was that not possible . On May 11 I left and was heading for Great Bridge . More about this passage in my next post .

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started