St Augustine till Cape Canaveral

After the anchor was safe in I made the dinghy ready to go ashore for the next day . That evening I stayed on board . The next day after the normal coffee and breakfast I went ashore . From where I was anchored it was a bit of a ride.

I went for a walk trough what is the centre and it was only tourist shops and restaurants and tourists. It is an old town and a beautiful place and it was around Christmas and New Year so it was not a surprise to see so many people. While walking a bit of the centre I found a gas station with a good price for diesel and I found a bank where I draw cash for the Bahamas.

After I had seen it all I went back on board and had something for lunch and then took my diesel jerrycan and the trolley and went after more diesel. The difference in price with the marina was 1,30 us dollar per gallon.

That evening I stayed on board and took it easy after all the walking. Yes my condition is not to bad with all that walking. The next day I went ashore again for more diesel and to have a shower. Sailing friends who were moored in the marina had a key for the shower .

That evening I went ashore to have a look at all the Christmas light and it was beautiful done specially on the main square.

The next day I left St Augustine for Daytona Beach . That was along long passage . By the time I was there I had clocked 48 nm . When you come in Daytona Beach from the north you see a lot of bridges , It is an amazing thing to see. I found a good anchor spot and around 16.30 the anchor was down and a beer out.

My sailing friends – Lance and Shawna – from sv Minerva where moored in a marina not to far from me.

The next morning I went over to them. Together with Lance I walked to a car rental place where he picked up a car. With the car we went to Walmart. There I did some more shopping and Lance did real big shopping. The next morning I went over to them again and we went to the Flea / Farmers market.

After walking around there we went back to there boat . Together with Shawna I went one more time to Walmart. With this shopping Mylady was real full . Back to there boat we had a chat and a drink before I went back to Mylady . After all was packed away I made something to eat and had that together with a beer.

The next morning I left early and had plans to make it in one go to Titusville. But around 11.30 I pasted “New Smyrna Beach “ I hit the breaks.

I remembered this lovely place from a few years back and thought why not have a look again. By the beginning of the afternoon I went ashore and walked trough the main street. I remembered that there was a place who sold “ Coopers home brew beer “ kits but could not find them . On my back down the main street I stopped in front of the “ Brewery “ and thought yes time for a beer . While I was there I had a taste of several kind of beers and met a bunch of wonderful people. Yes a good place for the last day of the year.

The next morning I left for Titusville. That was not a very long ride and the weather was nice and warm . Titusville is Rocket town. From there you can see the rockets they launch from Cape Canaveral. I anchor there on the anchorage what is a bit way out because the good spot is a big mooring field.

Titisville centre .

The next morning I took the local bus to a hardware shop who topped up my propane bottle. And believe it or not but I did a little bit of shopping to fill up the last bit of space that still was on Mylady . The second day that I was there I went ashore in the USA for the last time this trip. I walk around and bought at the bakery some nice stuff . Once on board I made the whole boat ready for the jump to the Bahamas. At 12.30 I left and moved 14 nm further south , closer to the

“Barge Channel “what ends in Port Canaveral and then out in the ocean.

Now it is 03 January 2023 and tomorrow I will leave for the Bahamas.

The last bridge in the ICW for me . And you see they building a big one.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started